Brasstastic

I know I already went on at length about Ketchup’s amazing ability to clean brass, but this before and after was so amazing I had to share.

I rescued this candle holder from my mother in-law’s garage when she was getting rid of junk last summer. I thought it could come in handy during a power outage. As I unpacked it in the new house, I noticed a sticker on the bottom that reads “Solid Brass Handmade – made in India”.   Hey! I thought, I know how to clean brass! Maybe this can be useful and be cute too! <- I always use exclamation marks at the end of every sentence when I talk to myself.

To get the wax off I dunked the whole thing in boiling water for a while. The gunk that rose the surface was gross! Then I smothered it in ketchup, let it sit, and polished lightly with a score pad. I repeated this about three times, but it was sooooo wort it. Can’t wait to show mother-in-law when she visits this weekend!

Home Stories A2Z

 

4 thoughts on “Brasstastic

  1. makes you wonder, doesn’t it…..what the heck IS in Ketchup????? ^-^
    thanks for liking one of my posts on vanplusfour.wordpress.com; thought I’d return the favour and see who’s reading me, lovely to meet you through your blog!
    Greetings from N. Wales (UK)
    Babs ^-^

What do you think?