Cubical Makeover {After}

I love my office. LOVE IT.

I hated it before, you can see all the reasons why here.

I love it because my cubical is now a collection of functional coordinated items, thoughtfully arranged, beautifying my desk.

Before and After

wide duo

chair duo sweater duo file duo screens duo pens duo

Details I Love

shelf

I love this shelf and everything on it. I “recovered” the shelf from a vacated desk of a friend who no longer works here (thanks Vicki!). And I love it because the frame is so heavy that there is no way I would have been able to hang it off the cubical walls. The picture is BISPGÅRDEN from Ikea ($19.99). It reminds me of the tiles that are everywhere in Lisbon, which was essentially the theme of the makeover.  The blue vase is from Chapters ($19.99, 30% off) and the tea-light holder from Bouclair Home (on sale 99¢). The silver-dollar branches were given to me by a retired co-worker a long time ago, I had them in the “before” office.

slate

I love this slate tray from Bouclair Home ($9.99). It grounds all the necessary office accessories in one place, collecting them together into an organised group. As a bonus the slate can be written on with chalk for quick notes to myself. The “Meet @ 1” is for your benefit, I don’t have meetings, I mostly play tic-tac-toe. The centre and right containers are from Chapters and were on the 50% off clearance rack. The left container was a simple white one from Ikea that I decorated with porcelain paint pens, in what is my interpretation on the Ikat pattern. It kind of looks like a 4-year-old did it, but that’s about right. The paper clip holder and fancy post-its are from the Dollar Store.

frames

I love the topiary. The ivy plant was in the “before” office, but loose and scraggly. I re-planted it in a Dollar Store ($2) pot, covered the dirt in moss I harvested from my lawn, and made the topiary form from stuff I had kicking about the house (tutorial to come). The ivy is no longer scrappy but collected and neat. The form adds height and visual interest which I adore, and as it fills in it will only look better. I replaced the awkward family portraits with awkward pet portraits, which is a huge improvement, and added a fun travel picture of the bubby and I.  The periodic table is just printed from the internet, but the floating frame (I had at home) gives it its proper prominence.

lamp

I love Ikea. The lamp is the 40 cm BRÅN ($16.99), I have a few smaller ones at home and think they are great and go with any decor. The oversized JÄLSTA shade ($18.00) is surprising and really makes the space feel homey.  I’m in love with blue glass right now, this is BRUKBAR ($2.49), and I use it for constant trips to the water cooler … which lead to constant trips to the laddies room, but oh well; stay hydrated!  The tissue box holder is also Ikea, but I had an extra one at home. The notebook is now where all my “important” information is kept (ie: passwords), and it is Martha Stewart Home Office ($1.19) available at Staples. I like how the geometric prints of the notebook and the lamp play off one another.

can

I love this watering can. I love the retro art-deco look, and that it was $1.55 in a thrift store. The violets were in the “before” office, but re-potted in a Dollar Store ($2) pot. The @ ($5.99) and & (3.99) decorative objects are from Bouclair Home, I dunno, I thought they were fun. The magazine files are easy-access storage for reference material, and are KASSETT from Ikea ($5.99/2 pack).

magnets

I love this magnet clip. I love it because it is strong enough to actually hold up my calendar, which I am constantly taking down (mostly to check when the the next pay-day is). They are from Staples, I forget how much I paid, but maybe $5.99 for a two-pack. The other one is holding up my head phones. The little green and blue ball magnets are from the Dollar Store. I don’t love keeping paper held up with magnets, that tends to look messy, but temporary things (like 50/50 tickets) are ok, and I loved how bright these were.

pillows

I love these pillows. They are comfy and welcoming and make everything cozy. The front cushion is from Chapters and I though it was a steal for $19.99 because it is an actual embroidered Ikat pattern. The back cushion is EMMIE LAND ($5.99) + INNER ($4.00) from Ikea.
lunch

And finally, I love my patriotic lunch-tote. I won it in a blog-contest from one of my fav blogs, The Art of Doing Stuff. Thanks Karen!

To Sum Up

moiWhen I walk into my office every morning, I feel like this is a place I want to be. Its a amazing what a difference it makes in my level of job satisfaction, considering the job hasn’t changed at all. But having the organisational tools I need make my days run smoother, and being surrounded by pretty, calming, personal items is relaxing a reassuring. I am motivated to keep my desk looking nice by staying organised and on top of things. I love having co-workers stop by for a chat, feeling like I have fun and comfortable space to host them in. It’s also great being able to express my individuality in a culture where everyone’s’ cube is largely the same. Everything I purchased is useful here, or at home if things change, but for now it is all worth the time, money, and effort. I am enjoying my “after” office.

 

5 thoughts on “Cubical Makeover {After}

What do you think?

