Shower at the Baths

It’s been a long while since my last post, but what can I say? Weddings are time-consuming! They also eat up your creative energy so that you have no inventive juices left to apply to the rest of your life. The good news is, that once the wedding is over, there will be no need for secrecy and I will be able to share everything I’ve been working on!

Today’s post will cover a wedding-event that is already over, and that I actually had very little to do with; my bridal shower! Four of the most amazing women on the planet threw me a shower at the Lodge of the Nordic Spa Scandinavian baths.

www.lenordik.com
http://www.lenordik.com
lodge living
http://www.lenordik.com

decor

In keeping with the rustic and woodsy venue up in the Gatineau hills, the girls used birch trunks, pine-cones, and fresh flowers to decorate the room. Flickering tea light candles set it all off beautifully. As an incredible useful keepsake / guest book. Ashley created a custom cutting board where guests could leave me a note. table decoreKitchen before 031

food

Lisa laid out a brunch buffet that was healthy AND delicious, including:

Bacon Frittada
Croissants and jam
Smoked salmon with cream cheese and blueberries
Veggies and dip
Fruit salad
Cheeses and crackers
Apple pie

And of course there was cake, made by the creator if our delicious Baby Shower Dinosaur cake. It was very sweet and full of fresh strawberries and butter cream. Perfect for Summer.

food table

cake and food

cake cutting cake

When asked by my Maid-of-Hour Kaitlin if I wanted alcohol at my shower, I responded something like “Ummm yeah! A party without booze is just a meeting.” … so there were several drink options for guests to choose from. A fresh and fruity white wine sangria in a bottomless punch bowl, ice water, coffee  and tea, and champagne mamosoas garnished with a lovely strawberry for a toast!

There was also special “Eve-Marie’s Bridal Shower” red and wine available, made especially for the occasion!

drink tablemimosas

wine and i games

I was mercifully spared embarrassing toilet-paper/blindfolded/purse raid type activities. The games we played were cute and entertaining.

First up was He Said She Said, where guests had to guess whether Liam or I had written various responses to relationship questions. This was really cute for the guests and me as well,  as I hadn’t read Liam’s answers.

Ironically, the girl who got the most correct was a coworker of mine who had only ever met Liam once for all of 5 minutes. She got to take home a bottle of wine as the winner!

he said she said 2 he says she saysplaying games

During the gift-opening portion of the party, we played Bridal Shower Bingo. Guests wrote in Bingo card boxes with what they thought was wrapped up in the mountain of presents. As I open each gift, they crossed off a box and the first to make a row won a bottle of wine. It was nice that everyone had something to do other than watch me all my awesome gifts. Yay presents!

vicki and rose

more giftsopening gifts

favours

For a little something for the guests to remember us by, Julie HANDMADE adorable, scented soaps! Each was wrapped up with a pretty tag that read “From Eve’s Shower to yours”. Honestly, how cute is that! Now when I go to friends and families houses, I spot the soaps on display in their bathrooms and it makes me really happy inside.

Kitchen before 028

So I got gifts. The guests got gifts. But I couldn’t let my girls go without getting anything! The time and effort my friends put into this party was very touching, so I wanted to give them something special to let them know how much it all meant to me. Since we were all going to spend the rest of the day enjoying the hot-tubs and saunas of the spa (where you walk around in bathing suits and robes) I got each of them and my mom …. and myself, custom-made dressing gowns from Comfy Clothing store on Etsy. mom and i
robe girls

I love how they turned out, and they will come in handy when we are all getting ready together on the Wedding Day.

flourish.svg

A GIGANTIC SURPRISE for me at the shower, was my oldest friend from elementary school, who now lives in the US, showing up completely unexpectedly. I was entirely thrown! Yelled something rude to her, almost strangled her with a hug, and then cried and laughed a lot.

lina and i

All in all, I am a very spoiled lucky girl.

What do you think?

