Powder Room Sneak-Peak

Today we hit a milestone in our bathroom renovation; we have a toilet! It’s so cool, it flushes and everything.

The commode being installed is one of the only hand-full of things that have gone smoothly in this renovation. Other things that have so far gone well are:

TP holder
the toilet paper holder,
Flush lever
the flush lever,
electrical
new electrical do-dads,
light
and the beautiful new light.

… although I’m not in love with the bulb, it’s too small so it might get changed out. This is probably the third bulb we have tried. Originally I went with a very cool-looking Edison bulb but it was far too dim. This one has enough brightness (lumens) but looks puny.

Here are a few of the many things that have not gone so well:

cracked molding
Gaps in the crown moulding corners so giant they have cracked.
messy molding
messy caulking jobs in the other corners
paint bleed
and many many paint bleed touch-ups.
paint bleed 2
Frog Tape, why have you failed me!?

And don’t get me started on the tiles! The tiles were a nightmare. I don’t have any pictures because I was too busy crying and looking for the crow-bar to rip it all up. What went wrong? I’ll tell you went wrong. It wasn’t my fault! Even though I am the one who did it I am completely blameless for almost ruining the tile job to the point that we would have to demolition back down to the sub floor. Every “How to Tile” guide I read or “Tiling Your Floor” video I watched said the same thing: don’t wipe off your grout too early. It was like mantra of the Tile-Installer-Guild, “let the grout set before removing” everyone said it, multiple times. So what do I do? I’m a good girl, I listen … I over-compensate and wipe the grout off far too late. It was stuck on the surface of the tiles and the grout lines of our octagon-and-dot mosaic were a dark squiggly mess.

The bubby and I spent two entire evenings rubbing the skin off our fingers trying to remove it with sugar water (an internet tip -it didn’t work). We were ready to give up when I started researching Aggressive Acid Treatments. Basically you use concentrated acid (in this case Sulfamic acid) to dissolve the dried concrete. Think about that, dissolve concrete. Liam’s feeling was that if they sold it at Home Depot it must be harmless. Dissolves concrete. My school years in the lab had taught me a healthy respect for acid in all forms and I was loath to subject myself again to its dangers and fumes. But we were desperate, and it dissolves concrete. I demanded that we both dawn goggles, masks, gloves, and skin-covering clothing. Lab Safety 101. The bathroom fan was turned on, not quite a Laminar Fume Hood, but it was the best we could do. As the resident scientist of the household, I handled printing out the MSDS (Material Safest Data Sheets) and performing the dilution. It worked like a charm.

The moment the acid hit the floor it started hissing bubbles and dissolving that stupid extra concrete. Chemistry is such a beautiful, powerful, useful thing. We guided it along with our gloved hands and wooden scrapping sticks, and much sooner than we could ever have imagined, we were rinsing the floor with fresh water and beholding clean tiles and beautifully straight grout lines. If I believed in god I would have thanked him. Thank Chemistry, it worked!

You don’t get a picture of the tile yet, that would be giving too much away. 😉

But we are seriously thinking we could maybe be done this weekend so you might not have to wait very long! We still have shelves to build, and sink to install, the faucet nightmare to resolve (more on that latter), the mirror to hang, a light-bulb to pick, and all the decorating and styling to work out. Sounds like a fun weekend eh?

You may also like: 

Powder Room Design
Powder Room Procurement
Powder Room Demolition

3 thoughts on “Powder Room Sneak-Peak

What do you think?

