Green Green {Green Iced Tea}

About this time last year, I showed you how to make Home-made From-scratch Iced Tea. Well today I had an inkling to make my first batch of the season, when I remembered something important; I have a beach vacation coming up … and my body, my body isn’t beach vacation ready.

At all.

So I thought better of that delicious sugary drink and decide to make something a little bit healthier. I came up with this and as I sip it I conclude that it is good enough to share with you wonderful people.  … not deep-South sweet tea good, but good enough and WAY better for us.

Here’s what you need:

1 pitcher of water
cheese cloth
kitchen string
2 tbs of green tea leaves (or 6 green-tea bags)
4 whole cloves
5 mint leaves
1/2 lime, sliced
1 cup Splenda no-calorie sweetener

Ingredients

Here’s what you do:

Fill a pitcher with water, a little bit over where you would consider it full, to allow for some evaporation. Pour this into a pot on the stove.  Lay down about four layers of cheesecloth and measure out your green-tea, add cloves, and bundle it up with kitchen string. Add the bundle (or tea bags) into the pot along with lime slices and mint leaves. Boil until you get a lovely light green colour.

before and after

Add the sweetener crystals and stir until dissolved.  Remove from heat and let sit until cool enough to handle. With slotted spoon, remove the bundle (or tea bags) as well as the lime and mint. Pour tea into the pitcher, refrigerate to chill, and you are done!

Green Iced TeaI think it’s safe to safe summa has arrived! … now if I could just find my summer body I could get out there … sigh.

4 thoughts on “Green Green {Green Iced Tea}

  1. Hehehe…I am sure my neighbors wished I showed less (pale white n’ saggy) skin while I garden 😉 This would go down nice on a hot day!

What do you think?

