Birthday Party Snack Table

The tradition in my family is that all birthdays must be celebrated with coffee and cake with relatives. Why anyone wants a cup of coffee at 8pm on a weeknight I have no idea, the pot usually goes untouched, but I’m not one to break with tradition. This year though I wanted to do a bit more for my dear relatives and put out a kick-ass snack table. Here’s what I served:

Bagel and Lox Bites

Just like I make for dinner, but with each bagel half quartered before assembly and served open-faced.  This is the most substantial element of the snack table, for those hungry party guests.

Brie and Crackers 

It is easy to assemble some crackers on a plate, and I find brie a generally well-liked cheese. Heat it up in the microwave for 60 seconds if it’s stored in the fridge and the cheesy goodness will come oozing out nicely. I like to serve fig jam on the side, the sweet and salty contrast is amazing.

Veggies and Dip Shots

Everyone can find something they like on a veggie tray. Classic vegetables I served were: baby carrots, celery sticks, cucumber sticks, red and green pepper sticks, grape tomatoes, and broccoli florets. I also had sugar snap peas but completely forgot about them.

I usually mix my own dip but to save time I used Heluva Good since it is a crowd pleaser and works well for both veggies and chips. Wanting to do something different with such a standard party staple, I piped the dip into shot glasses. This worked amazingly well. Using differently sized and shaped glasses added visual interest to the table, and everyone got their own portion of dip without messy dollops all over plates.

Assorted Olives

Maybe it’s the Portuguese in me, but a table is never complete without olives. Have fun at the olive bar and try some different varieties. The marinated veggies are fun.

Cupcakes

Instead of a cake this year the bubby treated me to cupcakes from Vanilla Gourmet Cupcakes. These were the star of the show, each one absolutely adorable and delicious. I love that they are homemade by two local girls with all the best intentions and ingredients.  We got to select two flavours, there are so many creative ones it was hard to choose, but I stuck with a Latin theme and picked these:

Cinnamon brown sugar cupcake sprinkled with cinnamon sugar and topped with cinnamon buttercream and a crispy sugar tortilla.
Filled with creamy dulce de leche and topped with dulce de leche swiss meringue buttercream.

During the party the veggies were dipped, the brie spread, the bagels munched, the cupcakes devoured, and the coffee pot predictably forgotten.  My family makes me feel so special and loved on my Birthday I hope that a more-than-necessary snack table returns the kindness.  It was a lovely birthday party and I can’t wait for the bubby’s in November so I can come up with more fun munchies! 

One thought on “Birthday Party Snack Table

What do you think?

