A Recipe for Womanhood {Fruit Dip}

The best summer-time dessert has to be fruit. Cool on hot summer nights, light after heavy grilled meats, refreshing under the sun. Fruits on their own are sweet and delicious, but you can make them down right heavenly with this complimenting dip.

I have never been much of a dipper, hating all chip and veggie dips. But when my high school best friend, Kristy, brought  a fruit platter with dip -courtesy of her mother- to my 14th birthday party, I was converted. It was so yummy and the tiny bit of alcohol made us feel so grown up! I wanted to know  how to make it, so my mother informed me that if I wanted the recipe all I had to do was call Kristy’s mom and ask for it. Umm, talk to an adult? yes. Can’t you do it? no. Oh boy. This was a rather daunting task, but I wanted more than anything to appear mature so:

>ring<

Hello?

Hello, this is Eve-Marie I w-

Hi Eve, I’ll get Kristy hol-

No! Ummm, I wanted to ask you something.

Oh, okay? 

>deep breath< Thank you very much for the fruit platter you provided for my birthday party, we enjoyed it very much. I was wondering if I you would possibly please share the dip recipe with me, as I would very much like to make it myself.

Certainly dear …

Well I’m not sure how accurate that conversation was, but over 10 years later that’s how I remember it. I’m actually pretty proud of my telephone skills …  something that was necessary before  texts and e-mails. This was the first recipe I ever copied. I wrote it down on a cue-card and stored it in my mom’s recipe book, it is still there today. I felt so womanly after this exchange, I was an adult now … I had a recipe for fruit dip.

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 tub of Cool Whip, defrosted in refrigerator
  • 2 packages of instant vanilla pudding powder
  • 0.5 cup Irish Cream or Kahlua
  • 1 cup milk

Here’s what you do:

Mix the pudding powder well into the Cool Whip, then mix in the liquids. It may seem too runny at first, but the pudding will stiffen it up. Actually lately I have been adding more milk for a creamier dip.

Serve with your favourit fruit, any will do. Here I used grapes, white cherries, pineapple, raspberries, black berries, and strawberries. I also had bananas, cantaloupe, and apples on hand but ran out of room in the tray. Hope you like it as much as I do!

Thanks Kristy’s mom!

Photobucket

4 thoughts on “A Recipe for Womanhood {Fruit Dip}

  1. Oh i can make this, and I am excited to share it with my family, looks so refreshing and good! Thanks so much for sharing at Heavenly Treats Sunday, pinning also!

What do you think?

