Merrily, merrily, merrily … Life’s a Custard Dream

This is what I spotted outside  my office window. I wasn’t sure what it was; a chip truck? ice cream? Thai? It didn’t matter, it was new and therefore had to be investigated.

Image

Turns out it was the Merry Dairy Truck. Cool! What’s that?

It’s frozen custard! It is only $3. It feels like 42oC outside and this lady is giving away frozen freakin’ custard for 3 bucks! She is a saint.

I was surprised there weren’t more people flocking out of their buildings in mobs, but the line-up was sufficiently long to get me thoroughly heat crazed by the time I got to the window.

Quick tip about frozen custard: it is calorie neutral! when you take into account how much you sweat on your way to and from the truck.

I wanted to take a picture of my custard but it was having a meltdown and had to be eaten immediately.  Here is a picture from Michelle at Baking in the ‘Burg:

She ate her custard in May when it wasn’t a torrid jungle outside. Mine was in a cone and I didn’t go for any sauce, but I’m sure you get the idea.

Anyway, my Thursday was made.

What do you think?

