Lazy {Connecticut Style Lobster Rolls}

Meet the inspiration for last nights dinner:

Do you want to know why my crustacean friend here was so inspiring? Because she (I actually checked)  was already dead.

I can’t believe this image exists

I love lobster but am a hypocrite and could never kill the thing I wanted to eat. Seeing lobsters sadly plodding around their store tanks makes me sad, and imagining dunking them into boiling water is literally a nightmare. Apparently the ‘humane’ way is to slice their heads open with a giant knife, but I can’t see myself being that violent.  … Unless the lobster was attacking my cats, in which case I’d be a knife wielding maniac.

After shopping, part of me wanted to go home, defrost the lobsters, crack ’em open and eat them right out of the shell -as I do annually with my family at the Crab Leg Gluttony Round Table (a story for another day). But then I though better myself and decided to try something new.

Wanting to keep meal prep time down, I decided on lobster sandwiches. After tedious research at the library on google, I learnt that there are basically two types of lobster sandwiches, or lobster rolls, as they are known by people in coastal regions. The ‘traditional’ style is a lobster salad, served cold with mayo and celery. Sounded like a waste of lobster to me, covering it with mayonnaise. Then there is ‘Connecticut’ style, which is served warm with butter. Ahh butter, that’s better. There are all these technicalities like it has to be drawn butter and in a hot dog buns sliced top down, but I was lazy about it and used what I had.

Here’s what you need:

  • 2 lobsters
  • 2 caibatta buns
  • 1 celery stock, chopped thin
  • 1/2 lime, juiced
  • salt
  • butter

Remove the claws, knuckles, and tail -keep the rest in the freezer to make a stock with later.  Use a meat mallet to break open the shells and extract the meat. You should place a tea town over the pieces you’re smacking so you don’t get lobster all over the kitchen -like I did at first. Keep the chunks as intact as possible, it’s nice looking to have whole claws sitting in your sandwich. Place in a bowl and drizzle with lime juice, keep in the fridge as you work on the rest.

Cut the buns in half and smother in butter, place on a cookie sheet under a flaming broiler to toast. While that’s happening, put a couple tablespoons of butter in a pan and melt, add in the lobster, just to warm it up and coat with butter. Add a dash of salt.

Lay out the lobster on the toasted buns, be generous with the melted butter, and sprinkle with celery. Serve with kettle chips and a cold beer. Delicious!

I guess an even lazier way would be to buy lobster meat from a can, but that’s a lot less inspiring.

4 thoughts on “Lazy {Connecticut Style Lobster Rolls}

What do you think?

